What is the AAF? Notable Players, Coaches and Teams

What is the AAF? Notable Players, Coaches and Teams

What is Alliance Of American Football?
The Alliance of American Football (AAF) is a new addition to football. It is intended to be an addition to the National Football League (NFL) not a replacement of it. The AAF season starts on February 9, 2019 after the NFL season ending game, the Super Bowl. For anyone who feels a sense of sadness once the Super Bowl ends because that mean football is over for a solid five months, now are able to get 12 more weeks of football with the AAF. Charlie Ebersol and Bill Polan created the AAF concept. The mission of AAF is to provide professional football of the highest quality while creating an alliance between the players and the fans.

Not only does the AAF fill in some of the offseason gap for football fans everywhere, but it allows local talent to get an opportunity to shine on the field. CBS Sports even hosted a draft for the AAF. Kurt Warner, took the lead role in the draft analysis. There are eight team franchises. Fans are able to feel like they are part of the game, too. They can stream all games with the Alliance app, which is free. The app has a fantasy football option that comes with rewards for the fan and the player. Players have protection off the field and on. They wear the latest and innovation protection, and also have a great bonus plan and scholarships for continuing education. The AAF also has a championship game at the end of the season on the weekend of April 26, 2019.

AAF Teams
The current franchise includes eight teams. They are the:

Arizona Hotshots
Atlanta Legends
Birmingham Iron
Memphis Express
Orlando Apollos
Salt Lake Stallions
San Antonio Commanders
San Diego Fleet

Not only is the AAF a way to fill the emptiness left behind from a lack of football, but there are even names and faces you will recognize.

The Arizona Hotshots have Rick Neuheisel as their head coach. The Atlanta Legends boast Kevin Coyle as their head coach. The Birmingham Iron shows Tim Lewis as their head coach. The Memphis Express will have Mike Singletary as their head coach. Steve Spurrier will be the head coach of The Orlando Apollos. Dennis Erickson will be the head coach of The Salt Lake Stallions. The San Antonio Commanders will have Mike Riley and The San Diego Fleet head coach will be Mike Martz.

In addition to the coaches, fans will also see the likes of Jared Allen, Hines Ward and Troy Polamalu.

Now for some of the notable players:

Trevor Knight will be the Quarterback for The Arizona Hotshots. The Atlanta Legends will have Quarterbacks Aaron Murray and Matt Simms, as well as Wide Receiver Stephen Hill. The Birmingham Iron will have the likes of Quarterbacks Blake Sims and Scott Tolzien, Running Back Trent Richardson, Cornerback JaCorey Shepherd, and Kicker Nick Novak. Quarterbacks Christian Hackenberg and Zach Mettenberger, Running Back Zac Stacy, and Wide Receiver Chris Givens will play for The Memphis Express. Quarterbacks Garrett Gilbert and Stephen Morris, Wide Receiver Frankie Hammond, and Defensive Back Will Hill will play for the Orlando Apollos. Quarter Backs B.J. Daniels and Garrett Grayson, and Running Back Matt Asiata will play for The Salt Lake Stallions. The San Antonio Commanders will have Running Backs David Cobb and Daryl Richardson. The San Diego Fleet will have Quarterback Josh Johnson and Running Back Bishop Sankey.

Related Articles