WTA 2019 Strasbourg International Betting Odds & Preview

WTA 2019 Strasbourg International Betting Odds & Preview

The 2019 Strasbourg International is about to get started with two top 10 players entered to participate. With just one week until the French Open most of the top players take the week off to rest, but this tournament has gotten very lucky to get three top 20 players to enter. Last year four top five seeds made it to the semifinals with the #3 seed Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova coming out with the title over Dominika Cibulkova.

This tournament has been held each year since 1987 and there have been 26 different champions over that timeframe. Spaniard Anabel Medina Garrigues and Italian Silvia Farini Elia each have won this tournament three times while Lindsay Davenport and Sam Stosur have each won it twice.

If the field holds up and people don’t retire this has a chance to be a very solid warmup tournament for the French Open.

Semifinal and Champion Predictions

I don’t see very many upsets happening early in this tournament as I like #1 Ash Barty to take on #4 Caroline Garcia in the first semifinal. Barty has a potential tough matchup with #5 Sofia Kenin in the quarterfinal, but I like the Aussie to get by the American. I don’t see too many hurdles in Caroline Garcia’s way.

The other semifinal will be #6 Dayana Yastremska vs Monica Puig. Yastremska has a tough draw, but I like her to get through Pauline Parmentier and then I expect the Ukrainian to make her way through the next two rounds. Monica Puig’s toughest opponent may be Aryna Sabalenka, but the Belarusian is in a rough patch right now and it does not seem like she is getting out of it.

The final will #1 Ash Barty vs Monica Puig with Monica Puig winning her second title here. Puig is +2500 to win the tournament.

Top 5 Odds to Win

  1. Ash Barty (+250)
  2. Caroline Garcia (+700)
  3. Aryna Sabalenka (+700)
  4. Dayana Yastremska (+800)
  5. Sofia Kenin (+1000)

Seeded Players

  1. Ash Barty
  2. Aryna Sabalenka
  3. Qiang Wang
  4. Caroline Garcia
  5. Sofia Kenin
  6. Dayana Yastremska
  7. Saisai Zheng
  8. Shuai Zhang

Past Champions

2018 – Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova

2017, 2015 – Sam Stosur

2016 – Caroline Garcia

2014 – Monica Puig

2013 – Alize Cornet

2012 – Francesca Schiavone

2011- Andrea Petkovic

2010 – Maria Sharapova

2009 – Aravane Rezai

Related Articles